Current Obsession : Allan Kingdom

[ Allan Kingdom – Northern Lights ]

With a wide taste in music, rap is no exclusion. I will admit that aside from my guilty pleasures (Juicy J, 2 Chainz and anything else that is highly inappropriate and degrading), I’m picky listener when it comes to this genre. Rap requires skill and style but few rappers bring an extra element to the table that keeps you listening for hours on end.

Allan Kingdom has the ability to do just that. Barely a few weeks old, his latest album,  Northern Lights, has me jammin’ solo in the library and is basically writing my media ethics essay for me. Songs like “Go Fish” hold commonalities to Chance the Rapper, yet the eery synth and dark tones of “The Forest (Intro)” make me question if James Blake somehow slipped into my playlist. Allan Kingdom has an unadulterated originality and style that demands to be heard and is best displayed in this album.

For friends who aren’t fans of rap, Allan Kingdom might be a turning point for you. At the young and thriving age of 22, this Canadian is bound to be around for awhile and will make damn good use of his time – I’m sure.

 

Favorite tracks: “Hypocrite (feat. Jared Evan)”, “The Ride”, “Go Fish” and “Outta Pocket (feat. Gloss Gang)”

Leave a Reply

